Fitnlife

We are busy people. It seems as though we are always running from one thing to the next, trying to cram everything we can into a single day. It is a hard feat to balance all aspects of one’s life – work, family, friends, significant other, errands, cleaning and kids – while still managing to make time for yourself. It seems with endless to-do lists and our busy lives it’s easy to overlook exercising and trying to lead a healthy lifestyle, which is exactly what happened to me.
Like so many others, I graduated college, got a full time job and by the time I was done with my workday going to the gym or exercising was the last thing I wanted to do. I was exhausted and just wanted to go home and relax. I don’t know how many times I said, “I will start eating better and exercising on Monday.” Mondays would come and go and some weeks I would go to the gym and be mindful of making healthy eating choices for a few days. However, my good intentions never lasted long and by the end of the week I would fall back into my old bad habits.
Slowly, and over time, the weight crept up on me and I consistently gained a few pounds a year. A pound or two a year might not sound like a lot, but when you gain a pound or two a year for four years in a row it adds up. Before I knew it, I had put on an extra 15 pounds. Even 15 pounds doesn’t sound like an extreme change, but beyond the weight gain, I didn’t feel very good about myself and I often found I had low energy. Friends and my boyfriend (my now husband) would invite me to go running or for a hike and I found myself struggling to keep up. Even worse, I found myself not wanting to go shopping (which I love to do) because I could no longer fit in to my regular sizes! Even though I was generally not feeling great about myself, out of shape, and having to buy larger sizes of clothes, I could still not motivate myself to exercise and make better eating choices consistently.
My ah-ha moment came when I got engaged and, like many soon to be brides, I wanted to feel and look great on my big day. Even more than that, I had finally reached a point where I was tired of making excuses and genuinely wanted to lead a healthier lifestyle. I joined a gym, focused on incorporating diverse workouts into my routine, and starting making small changes to my eating habits. Slowly but surely, I started losing weight and could feel myself getting into better shape. I had more energy and found myself wanting to go to the gym. By the time my wedding day came, I had met my weight loss goal (bye-bye extra lbs) and more importantly I felt great not only about the way I looked in my wedding dress, but also about myself.
0254_j u l i e c a h i l l PHOTOGRAPHY
0716_j u l i e c a h i l l PHOTOGRAPHY
Trying to fit everything in is hard and often becomes a balancing act of doing the things we have to do in life versus doing the things we want to do. I started Fitnlife as a way to keep track of the strategies I used to meet my weight loss goal, my favorite recipes, how I continue to stay fit and lead a healthy lifestyle, as well as my other random adventures.

3 thoughts on “Fitnlife

  1. Thanks for sharing….it is sooo hard to fit it all in. I am exhausted just thinking about it but I need to lose some weight and get fit and I guess there’s no better time to start than now

    • Thanks for sharing, I love your new blog 🙂

    • Getting started was the hardest part for me. I started out slowly change small changes to the way I ate and I how I worked out. It can take some time to find a workout routine that works for you and how to incorporate healthy eating habits into your life, but stick with it! Incorporating weight lifting into my workouts really helped me lose the weight and get back into shape. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

