Saturday Morning Breakfast

During the work week my mornings are usually pretty rushed, which is my own fault. I am always running around like a crazy person trying to get ready for work and out the door on time. I am not the type of person that hears their alarm in the morning and  jumps right out of bed. Instead I hit the snooze button over and over again so I can sleep until the last possible second. I am not the only one who struggles with getting up in the morning…Cooper is pretty bad too!

IMG_0934

IMG_0899

In my rush to get ready in the morning, I never have time to cook myself breakfast. Ray has been encouraging me for years to try and get up earlier so I can have enough time to get ready without rushing and have breakfast at home. I know he is right, but I can’t seem to resist the urge to hit the snooze button! I may not wake up with enough time to cook breakfast, but I do always manage to make coffee in the morning. My coffee cup pretty much sums up my feelings on the necessity of starting your day with coffee!

IMG_1149

During the work week breakfast for me usually involves grabbing something as I run out the door that I can either eat in my car or at my desk. Breakfast is one of the most important meals of the day since it gets your metabolism going, so even though I eat breakfast on the go most mornings, I still try to ensure it is nutritious and filling.

Some of my favorite breakfasts to eat on the go are:

– Greek Yogurt with fruit and granola
– Whole wheat toast with peanut butter and a side of strawberries and bananas
– Rolled up whole wheat tortilla (heated up) with peanut butter and honey
– Instant Oatmeal with a scoop of peanut butter and nuts mixed in. I have to add some protein to my oatmeal otherwise it doesn’t fill me up and I am hungry an hour later

Today, I decided to take advantage of the fact that I did not have anywhere to be and cooked a hot breakfast of scrambled eggs and toast.

In a small bowl I added two eggs, a dash of pepper, a dash of garlic salt and a small amount of water and mixed everything together. I poured the mixture in a skillet and cooked on the stove with low to medium heat. Once the egg mixture started cooking, I added small pieces of ham for a little extra protein.

After my scrambled eggs were done, I sprinkled a little pepper jack cheese on them and toasted a piece of whole wheat sourdough toast.

IMG_1152

It was delicious!

Breakfast is an important meal and shouldn’t be skipped.  I find that eating a  good breakfast is the best deterrent for unhealthy “grazing”  I sometimes do throughout the day.

Maybe this week I will try and get up at least one day with enough time to cook and eat breakfast at home.

2 thoughts on “Saturday Morning Breakfast

  1. Lets make a pact to wake up one morning next week and make breakfast. I’ve been thinking the same thing!

  2. […] have to give yourself credit for the small victories in your life; for me cooking and eating breakfast at home  before work was a small […]

Leave a Reply

