Workday Breakfast at Home: Banana Oatmeal

Last Wednesday Ray had to get up early for work and usually I would just roll over and go back to bed until my alarm went off.  However, I decided to wake up and get my day going as well.  It was grey and cold out so I thought Banana Oatmeal sounded like a good way to start the day.

Banana Oatmeal

 Ingredients

  • 1 banana
  • ½ cup old fashioned oats (I used Quaker Oats)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 scoop of peanut butter

Note: This recipe is for one serving. I doubled it in order to make enough for Ray and I.

Directions

1)   Slice up the banana into bite size pieces.

2)   Combine the oats, milk, and banana pieces in a pot on the stove.

IMG_1182

3)   Cook the mixture over medium heat until the oatmeal thickens, stirring occasionally.

4)   Once the oatmeal reached desired thickness, remove from heat, and add a scoop of peanut butter.

The Banana Oatmeal turned out really well and kept me full until lunch!  IMG_1185

It might not seem like a big deal that I woke up early and cooked Ray and I breakfast before going to work, but for me it is. Waking up early and giving myself enough time to get ready for work is not my strong suit ( I am working on it). You have to give yourself credit for the small victories in your life; for me cooking and eating breakfast at home  before work was a small victory.

3 thoughts on “Workday Breakfast at Home: Banana Oatmeal

  1. Looks yummy! Great idea for a quick breakfast!

  2. […] Workday Breakfast at Home: Banana Oatmeal (fitnlife.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] the corner we needed to sit down and organize our schedules.  Ray and I enjoyed some coffee and banana oatmeal during our schedule/holiday planning session, which totally hit the spot. I love coffee and […]

Leave a Reply

