Getting Back into the Swing of Things

Last weekend Ray and I were in Northern California for a family event and to celebrate our friend’s 30th birthday. It was great to be able to hang out and catch up with our family and friends, especially over lots of great food and drinks!  The weekend was over in a blink of an eye (time really does fly when you are having fun) and before I knew it we were heading back to San Diego. Ray and I got back late Sunday night and on Monday I woke up feeling stiff, sore and bloated (not a great way to start the week). I wasn’t surprised though. Travel can sometimes take a lot out of me – lugging luggage around, sitting in the plane, driving long distances, and not getting enough sleep. Not to mention that my diet over the weekend had consisted of bagels, hamburgers, pizza, and seafood (did I mention Moscow Mules and beer). 

When lunchtime rolled around on Monday, I decided to run to Whole Foods and make myself a salad. I am not sure I consumed one vegetable over the previous few days and I was in need of a healthy lunch full of veggies. My salad included sunflower seeds, carrots, red cabbage, almonds, sesame sticks, cucumbers, broccoli, zucchini, red quinoa, cheese, kale and romaine lettuce.

photo salad

It totally hit the spot!

Sometimes I find that salads don’t always satisfy my appetite and my stomach is grumbling a few hours later. I have found that  by adding a mixture of nuts and quinoa the added protein and fiber makes my salad heartier and keeps me fuller longer. If you have never tried adding quinoa to your salads, I would definitely recommend it.  Quinoa has a lot of great nutritional value and is low in fat and high in protein. According to About.Com, 1 cup of quinoa has about 222 calories, 3.5 grams of fat, 8 grams of protein, and 15% of your recommended fiber.

After work, I came home to find Ray working on his computer and Cooper sleeping next to him.  The exhaustion from traveling, lack of sleep, and a full day of work had finally caught up to us and neither Ray nor I felt like doing much. However, I knew we would both feel better if we went for a run and got outside for a little bit.  Plus I had downloaded a bunch of new music to my iPod shuffle that I wanted to listen to. New tunes always makes me excited for a run.

IMG_1195

Ray, Cooper and I went for a thirty-minute run by the ocean and when we were done we were both glad we had gone.  The run worked up a great sweat and helped loosen up my stiff and sore muscles.  The run also did a number on Cooper because he barely made it inside the house before plopping down for a nap.

cooper after run 2

After a weekend full of indulgences and fun, it can be difficult to get back into the swing of your normal routine. Fitting in a workout early in the week helps motivate and inspire me to get back into my healthy eating habits and normal workout schedule. Sometimes the days you don’t want to exercise the most are the days you end up having the best workouts.  I think it is because you feel extra good about yourself for working out instead of giving into the laziness and skipping it.  

2 thoughts on “Getting Back into the Swing of Things

  1. I could recognize that box from anywhere 😉 I LOVE Whole Foods’ bars!

  2. […] in a row, which I think might be part of the reason I got sick. The first weekend we went to Northern California and then we traveled to Boston to celebrate our one year wedding […]

Leave a Reply

