Running Challenge: Pile on the Miles 2013

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

I bought Cooper a Halloween Costume to wear tonight while Ray and I hand out candy to the trick-or-treaters. I will post a picture of Cooper in his costume later tonight (that is if he doesn’t destroy it before I have time to take the photo).

 I can’t believe October is already over and that Thanksgiving is right around the corner. Part of our Thanksgiving tradition is to run a Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving Day. While we lived in Boston, Ray and I spent the Thanksgiving holiday with Ray’s Uncle Joe and Aunt Karen in up-state New York. Every year Joe and Karen participated in the Saratoga Springs Christopher Dailey 5K Turkey Trot and we decided to join in the fun and run it with them.

 When we moved to San Diego we decided to carry on Joe and Karen’s tradition and have continued to participate in Turkey Trots.  We haven’t missed one in four years and it has been fun to introduce the tradition to our family and friends on the West Coast. This year Ray and I will be participating in the Father Joe’s Villages 5K Turkey Trot in Balboa Park.  I will admit I have a hard time getting up early on Thanksgiving Day to run, but once I am at the race I am always  thankful I am doing it.  I love the energy at the Turkey Trot races. Everyone is happy and excited and usually there are a few runners wearing pretty funny turkey costumes. Plus it feels awesome to get a little exercise in before enjoying Thanksgiving dinner.

This morning I found the Pile on the Miles 2013 Challenge, which is being organized by the blog Run Eat Repeat. I have not been running a lot lately and I need to start so that I can beat last year’s 5k Turkey Trot time (about 29 minutes). I thought this challenge would be the perfect way to get me motivated to start running and help keep me accountable. My goal is to run 8 miles a week in November.

 Details of the Pile on the Miles 2013 Challenge:

What: FREE Online challenge to walk or run more during turkey month

Where: Virtual! Sign up at RunEatRepeat.com

  1. Complete a form online.
  2. Set a goal at the beginning of the challenge to WALK or RUN x amount of miles or minutes in November. These could be miles or a set time on the treadmill OR outside/inside walking or running or cycling.
  3. Leave a comment on Run Eat Repeat on Nov 1, 10, 17 and 24th with your Mileage/Minutes Goal for that week. All comments on those posts will be  entered into a giveaway. It does not matter if you hit your goal each week but you must check-in and be accountable to be entered to win.

Let me know if you decide to participate!

2 thoughts on “Running Challenge: Pile on the Miles 2013

  1. […] have been slacking on my running lately for the Pile on the Miles Challenge . This past week my goal was to run 8 miles and before Saturday I hadn’t been running […]

  2. […] running shoes have not been getting enough use lately! I didn’t meet my running goal for the Pile on the Miles Challenge last […]

Leave a Reply

