A Run on the Treadmill and Date Night

I have been slacking on my running lately for the Pile on the Miles Challenge. This past week my goal was to run 8 miles and before Saturday I hadn’t been running once. Now that it is getting darker earlier by the time I leave work it is pitch dark outside, which caused me to lose all motivation to go to the gym and run last week.

On Saturday, I had some errands to do which were right by my gym so I decided to pop in and get a 30 minute run in. The last few times I went running outside my knees bothered me a little during the run and were pretty sore afterwards. I thought it might be good idea to run on the treadmill and give my knees a little break.

For my warm up, I walked on the treadmill for about 5 minutes at a leisurely pace and then stretched my legs and hips since my body was still feeling a little stiff. I started my run at a nice and easy pace and as my body continued to warm and loosen up I increased my pace. I ended up having a great run and my knees didn’t bother me at all.  I ran 3.2 miles in 28 minutes and 36 seconds.

After my run, I was a hot sweaty mess and my cheeks were pretty pink…they were almost  the same color as my shirt!post run

Historically, my cheeks always get really red/pink when I am running and stay that way for a long after my run is finished.  Usually, I  get pretty bored on the treadmill and a 30 minute run feels like it takes forever, but on Saturday the time flew by. I downloaded some new music before I went to the gym on Saturday, which must have helped keep me going. I rocked out to Burn by Ellie Goulding and a bunch of Lana Del Rey’s songs that were remixed.

If you are new to running or get bored easily on the treadmill like I do you should try varying your pace throughout your run so you are running and walking/jogging for timed intervals. For instance run at quick pace for 4 minutes and then jog or walk at a slower pace for 2 minutes.  When I started getting into running this workout helped me build my stamina and now that I am a more experienced runner it has helped me run faster.  I also find when I do a 30 minute run on the treadmill if I break up the run into timed intervals and mix up the paces it helps the time fly by because I focus on how much time is left in the interval rather than the total time left in my workout.

After my workout, I headed home to clean the house and get ready for my date night with Ray. However, the weather was too nice to spend the rest of the afternoon cleaning the house so I decided to grab Cooper and take him for a walk.  Walking with Cooper was a great way to cool down after my run and Cooper had a good time watching the people at the beach and looking for squirrels. Windansea 11.9

Cooper Walk  It was pretty warm outside and on the way home Cooper got hot and decided to plop down on someone’s lawn. It took me forever to get him to start walking again. Cooper Walk 2

After our walk, Cooper took a nap and I managed to quickly clean the house before I jumped in the shower and got ready for date night. My mom sent Ray and I a gift card to George’s Ocean Terrace for our 1 year wedding anniversary. Ray took me George’s Ocean Terrace for dinner after he proposed to celebrate.  The drinks are great, the food is tasty, and the view is amazing.  The terrace overlooks La Jolla Cove and gives you a great view of the coastline.  Check out the view…it really is a cool place to have lunch or dinner. Cove viewWhenever we go to George’s Ocean Terrace I always have a lemondrop martini (okay maybe two) and Ray and I always get the mussels for our appetizer and the sticky toffee pudding cake for dessert.Dinner Out

As usual the food and the drinks were awesome last night and we had a great time at dinner. We haven’t been on a date night in a while so it was fun to dress up and have a long, leisurely dinner.

2 thoughts on “A Run on the Treadmill and Date Night

  1. I love George’s too! I remember when you took us there over 4th of July weekend. I loved the lemon drop! Sounds like a great day.

  2. […] Kristie, and I having a cocktail before dinner at George’s Ocean Terrance. Of course, I had to have a lemon drop […]

Leave a Reply

