First Run of 2014

Over the holidays, Ray’s brother was talking about running his first half marathon and asked if Ray and I would be interested in running it with him. Ray and I ran the San Diego Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon in 2011, but since then we have only done a few 5ks and 10ks and our running has been pretty sporadic. With all of the running talk over the holidays and the wonderful weather we have been having in San Diego, I thought it was time to grab my running shoes and go for my first run of 2014.

running shoes

I have not been running since I completed the Father Joe’s 5k Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving (which by the way was a ton of fun), so I thought it would be best to ease myself back into running and not push myself too hard.  I decided to run from Windansea Beach to La Jolla Cove, which is about 3.5 miles.

windansea run LA Jolla Cove

I love running this route because you spend the majority of the time along the ocean, which provides you with amazing views and great people watching. I always find that the views and people watching are excellent distractions and really helps the miles fly by. The route is mostly flat, but does have a few hills!

windansea la jolla cove run 1

While I was running to La Jolla Cove the other day I couldn’t help but think about the first time I ran the route.  It was the first run I did in San Diego after Ray and I moved from Boston and oh boy did it kick my ass.  Ray discovered the route and one weekend he dragged me along with him. I struggled through the whole run especially on the hills and had to walk multiple times. By the time I finished the run, I was red, hot, dripping with sweat, and almost completely out of breath. I swore I would never run that route again! After I recovered from the run, I was mad that I had let the route get the best of me and made it a goal to run the whole thing. I couldn’t let the hills get the best of me! It took some time, but eventually I worked up the strength and stamina to complete the run without stopping.

It is funny that three years later that route is my all-time favorite run and I am able to complete it easily. I actually look forward to the hills now! After my run, I was a little hungry so I threw together a post run smoothie to hold me over until dinner.

In the mix was:

– 1 serving of chocolate protein powder

– Half a banana

– 3/4 tablespoon of peanut butter

– Approximately 1 cup of almond milk

– Ice

smoothie

I will admit it isn’t the prettiest looking smoothie, but is was super tasty and hit the spot!

Did you know that if you workout at a moderate to high intensity level a post workout snack can help you replenish your muscle’s glycogen (sugar or energy) storage and repair muscle tissue? According to Ace Fitness, your post workout snack should be consumed within 30 minutes of your workout and include easily digestible carbohydrates and protein. The American Dietetic Association recommends that your post workout snack include 1-1.5 grams carbohydrates and 10-20 grams of lean protein per kilogram of your body weight. I didn’t strictly follow these guidelines when I made my post workout smoothie, but my smoothie did have a good mix of carbohydrates and protein and wasn’t too high in calories.

Even though the Windansea Beach to La Jolla Cove run isn’t as challenging as it once was for me it still gave my knees quite a workout because they were sore afterwards.  If I am going to run a half marathon this year I need to keep my knees in good shape, so I iced them for 30 minutes.

knees with ice

At first Cooper kept trying to still the ice pack from me, but he lost interest quickly and passed out next to me.

cooper asleep on bed

While I was icing my knees I picked up an old version of Health magazine and noticed an interesting article on Walking vs. Running that I must have missed on my first read through. I was surprised to know that with some extra time you can achieve the same calorie burn from walking as you do from running.

walk vs run

Later today I am going to my first Pilates Reformer class. I will let you know how it is.

Enjoy the rest of your Friday!

Leave a Reply

