Is the Weekend Here Yet?

Happy Hump Day! I don’t know about you, but I am really looking forward to this weekend especially since I have Monday off from work for Martin Luther King Jr. Day. Three day weekends are the best! I am not sure if it is the beautiful weather we have been having in San Diego or that I had so much fun last weekend, but I have been struggling to get into work mode this week.  Anyone else having that problem?

Last Saturday Ray and I got an early start to our day and since we didn’t have any plans we decided to hike Cowles Mountain with Cooper and enjoy the nice weather outside. Cooper got pretty excited when he saw us break out our hiking shoes and CamelBak pack and started running figure eights around our living room. We had to put him in the pre-walk staging area so we could get ready without him going crazy and trying to steal our stuff.

cooper pre walk

I am not sure why, but letting Cooper hang out in this position for a little bit before a walk or an outing always seems to calm him down.

I guess a lot of people had the same idea as Ray and I because when we got to Cowles Mountain around 10:00am it was super busy. It looked like there was a conveyor belt of people moving up the trail and trying to park was a mad house.  We had not hiked Cowles Mountain since last September and I forgot what a great workout it is. I was huffing and puffing the whole way up.  I love hiking Cowles Mountain because it is conveniently located and the hike is only three miles so it doesn’t take up your whole day.  It isn’t the prettiest hike and it is very popular so it does get crowded and can be slow-moving at times.

Copper hike cowles 3

Cooper loves drinking water from our CamelBak pack.

cooper and ray cowles

cowles hike with cooper

cooper ray and i cowles

saracooperhike

Cooper did much better this time than the last time we hiked Cowles Mountain. He didn’t spend the whole time moving from one shady spot to the next and didn’t go chasing down the mountain after a bird. We are able to finish the whole hike in an hour and ten minutes.

Whenever I hike I always pick a reward that I will get to enjoy when I am done and my reward always has something to do with food or drinks. Whenever I need motivation on the hike I just think about how good my reward will taste and it always makes me move a little faster.  My reward for completing our hike on Saturday was an iced coffee with vanilla powder from The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf.

ice coffee

I think I drank the whole thing in 10 minutes…it was so good!  Ice coffee might not seem like a great reward, but the vanilla powder makes it extra good and there are no Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf locations super close to our house. After our hike, Cooper took a long nap on the couch, which I guess was his reward.

cooper post hike

He has such a hard life.

We spent the rest of our Saturday watching football, drinking beer, and hanging out with our friends. The night ended with a small fire on the beach, which would have been perfect except we didn’t have all of the stuff to make s’mores with.

fire beach

Sunday was more mellow, but just as fun and included a great strength training workout, a C2 class at CorePower Yoga in Pacific Beach, and watching more football with friends at our house. Only bad part of the day was having to take Ray to the airport for another full week of travel 😦

Hopefully, the rest of the work week goes by fast!

Leave a Reply

