Happy Valentine’s Day

Ray brought me flowers at work today, which was a fun surprise and a great way to start my day. I love fresh flowers!

v day flowers

In years past, Valentine’s Day has not been the best holiday for Ray and I.  We always had the best intentions to celebrate, but some how our plans always had a way of getting messed up. Some of my favorite Valentine’s Day memories include:

The year Ray and I were both horribly sick and barely made it through our dinner reservation without falling asleep.

The year we had a terrible snow storm in Boston and we decided to stay in and order food instead of going out. We ordered food from our favorite restaurant and they said it would only be 20 minutes for delivery, which actually meant 2 hours. By the time the food was delivered, Ray and I were ravenous and it was cold!

The year I blew out candles and got hot wax all over our TV stand and new TV. It took us over an hour to clean it up. So much for a romantic dinner at home.

Last year we finally broke our bad luck streak and had a great Valentine’s Day.  Ray bought everything we needed to make sushi at home. We had so much fun making our own rolls.  Ray and I were both surprised at how well the sushi rolls turned out and how good they tasted. It was easier to make the rolls than we thought it would be, but making the rice is a little tricky. Since we had so much fun last year we decided to do the same thing this year. I am looking forward to seeing if our sushi skills improved over the last year and what new combinations we come up with.

I saw this cartoon today online and thought it was pretty funny.

valentines-day-pictures-funny

Enjoy the rest of your Friday and Happy President’s Day weekend.  I am looking forward to the three-day weekend!

One thought on “Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. […] hope everyone had a fantastic weekend and Valentine’s Day. Ray and I continued our Valentine’s Day tradition and had a great sushi dinner at […]

Leave a Reply

