Monday Motivation Better Late than Never

Well hello there! The past few weeks have been a whirlwind of travel and I am just now getting back into my normal routine. In the last two weeks, Ray and I traveled to San Fransisco to celebrate a friend’s 30th birthday, to Chicago for a work trip for Ray (which I tagged along for), and to Malibu for a camping/surfing adventure.

We got back into San Diego last Wednesday from Chicago and we only had a few days in town to recover from our previous trips and get ready for our camping trip. Even with all of our traveling, I still managed to set aside some time to workout and fit in a few strength training sessions, a couple of runs, and a CorePower Yoga class in Chicago.

However, my diet in the last few weeks has not been as stellar as my workouts.  I am a total foodie, and I love to eat! Sometimes after I eat dinner, I actually get sad because I am done eating for the day and start thinking about what I will eat for breakfast the next day. My love of food can make it hard to make healthy eating choices when I am eating out and especially when I am traveling. In fact, one of the things I love most about traveling is eating at new restaurants and trying new types of food.

When I am traveling I know I will not be sticking to my typical eating habits, will be enjoying richer foods, and will be taking in more calories than normal. In order to off set some of the extra calories, I try to squeeze in a little exercise if I can. If I can’t, I don’t stress about it and I hit the gym a little harder when I get home. It is all about finding a balance that works for you. For instance while Ray and I were in Chicago I knew we would be going out to some fantastic restaurants and that the meals would be on the heavier side, so I made it a point to try to eat healthier meals for breakfast and lunch that were more in line with my normal eating habits.

This quote always makes me laugh and I thought it would be the perfect quote for this week’s Monday Motivation (even though it is Wednesday) given the poor state of my diet lately!

you-are-what-you-eat-so-dont-be-fast-cheap-easy-or-fake
Last Thursday Ray and I both were sick of eating out and we were craving something on the healthier side for dinner. Earlier in the day I was reading the blog, The Fitnessista, and I stumbled upon a recipe that had an interesting and new twist for chicken salad. The recipe used avocado as the base for the chicken salad mixture instead of mayo.

The recipe was easy to follow and our dinner of avocado chicken salad sandwiches and a side salad come together in no time at all (especially since I used the store-bought whole roasted chicken instead of cooking chicken breasts myself).  I had my avocado chicken salad in a whole wheat wrap and Ray had his on whole wheat cracked sourdough.

avacado chicken salad

Ray made the right call by putting the mix on sourdough bread. The crunch of the bread was a better contrast to the avocado chicken salad than my wrap. The meal was simple, easy to put together, and helped get my eating routine back on track.

Previous Monday Motivation Quotes:

Week 1

Week 2

Week 3

Week 4

3 thoughts on “Monday Motivation Better Late than Never

Leave a Reply

