Monday Motivation & 2014 Fitness Goals

I hope everyone had a great weekend.  My weekend was pretty low-key, which I was very excited about since Ray and I have been out-of-town a lot lately. Yesterday, the weather felt more like summer than early spring in San Diego. Ray and I took a spin class in the morning, spent the afternoon at the beach, and ended the day at friend’s house for a BBQ. It was the perfect Sunday.

All of the nice weather and sunshine made it especially hard to switch my brain into work mode today. Luckily, I was still able to finish up my work on time and make it home in time to take Cooper for a walk with Ray and watch the sunset.

For the next few weeks my workout routine is going to be a little different from what I am used to and is going to be focused on running.  Last year at Christmas time Ray, Matt (Ray’s brother), and I talked about running a half marathon together in the spring. The three of us spent some time looking at different options that would work with our schedules, would be easy to travel to, and that would have a pretty running route.

One of the only races that worked with all of our schedules and that would give us enough time to train was the La Jolla Half Marathon on April 27, 2014. I was pretty hesitant to sign up for the race because the course is pretty challenging.

Check out the course’s elevation map!

half hills map

The three of us signed up in early February before we could talk ourselves out of it.

half marathon

Up until now my fitness routine has not changed that much. Ray and I have incorporated a few shorter runs ( 3 to 4 miles) in during the week and have been running longer runs (5 to 6.5 miles) over the weekend. The race is not that far away and I really need to start focusing on training for the half marathon. My goal is to complete the race in under 2 hours and 15 minutes.

I think it is important to have fitness goals to work towards, especially goals that push you outside of your comfort zone.  Having and working toward a fitness goal was one of the tools I used to keep me motivated while I was trying to get back into shape and has been instrumental in maintaining my current weight and fitness level.

Last year, my fitness goal was to become strong enough to do one unassisted pull up (or chin up).  Sadly, I have not achieved this fitness goal yet, but I am not giving up!

My fitness goals in 2014 are to tackle the hills of the La Jolla Half Marathon course and complete one unassisted pull up (or chin up).

Fitness Goals Quote

What are some fitness goals that you are working towards this year?

Previous Monday Motivation Quotes:

Week 1

Week 2

Week 3

Week 4

Week 5

3 thoughts on “Monday Motivation & 2014 Fitness Goals

  1. […] it in one hour and thirty minutes, which is an awesome pace for me. We ran the middle part of the La Jolla Half Marathon course, which included the Torrey Pines Monster Hill (~1 mile at a constant 10% grade – and […]

Leave a Reply

